Nicholas Yonge Society

International Chamber Music in Lewes

Friday 8 December 2023

Sitkovetsky Piano Trio
(Purchase tickets here)
Alexander Sitkovetsky Violin
Isang Enders Cello
Wu Qian Piano
Beethoven Piano Trio No. 5 in D Maj Op. 70 No. 1 'The Ghost'
Elfrida Andrée Piano Trio No. 2 in G minor
Schubert Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat D 898

Click here to download the programme notes for this concert.

The Sitkovetskys were last at Nicholas Yonge in November 2021 playing Schumann, Arensky and Tchaikovsky to enthusiastic acclaim. It is a great pleasure to welcome them back to perform two pillars of the piano trio repertoire – Beethoven's Ghost Trio and Schubert's B-flat Trio – together with an immensely energetic and tuneful trio by the late 19-century Swedish composer Elfrida Andrée. We are sure you will enjoy making her acquaintance.

Like three good friends enjoying a glass of wine and a natter, the Sitkovetsky Trio sparkle with conviviality in this pairing of early and middle-period Beethoven. It’s wonderfully uplifting.  BBC Music Magazine (*****)  

Visit The Sitkovestsky Trio's website.